Wednesday, January 15, 2014

ALBUM REVIEW: M-EZ - GRAND ROI The Great King - Release date 25th Feb 2014

For those who were blown away by the power of M-EZ's last album 'Power' this album is a blessing showing further depth and growth from this young but mature artist. Relationships form a strong part of this album. Both with the ladies and those around him.

1. L.I.F.E. Intro
M-EZ excels at triumphant beats and this one serves as an excellent intro heralding his return.

2. Welcome 2 The Game ft Rell Gates
A drumline style drum track is the driving force behind this welcome back for someone who never left. M and Rell Gates lay down their thoughts on the industry and dominance in it.

3. Set Me Free
Thoughts of a hustler are layed down over a pounding bass line as M-EZ struggles with his conscience in between vocal samples.

4. Back A Round
M-EZ takes aim at the suckers and snakes over a stripped down track warning them not to throw rocks at this throne.

5. Self Kontrol ft Rell
Former Roc-a-fella artist Rell puts down a smooth vocal hook over this track. M-EZ goes through the struggles and emotions we have all experienced in love from wanting to showing the door.

6. Crazy, Stupid, Love
Continuing the love theme M plays it cold with a girl letting her know his real thoughts on their relationship.

7. 4 Play Money
If the last song was lyrically slightly chilly on the emotional front this one puts M's feelings in the deep freeze as he states his intentions clear.

8. On To Ya
The chanting infused beat is infectious as M represents fully. The only problem with this track is you wish it lasted longer.

9. Monster ft Roman 610
Both emcees go in hard on this track putting down their monster tenancies over a haunting sounding beat.

10. Dog House
A beautifully used vocal sample runs through this track, giving it a sound reminiscent both musically and vocally of Kanye's 'Bound 2', while M-EZ plays the role of working his way out of the dog house.

11. Got To Get Away
This R&B based track sees M rebuilding his relationship status pointing out the good times and bad to a female who wanted to take a break.

12. Push
Another great vocal sample features on the hook while M puts forward his thoughts on the everyday struggle.

13. Suffer ft Desert Eagle
Both emcees go at these scheming females, making their intentions clear over yet another great beat using a nice and smooth vocal sample.

14. Bad
M rounds off the album nicely in club mode with this banger about a bad girl. Telling the tale of the journey from club to the crib.

All in all this another strong release from M-EZ that needs to be in your collection or at least on constant stream. Look out for it 25th Feb.

No comments:

Post a Comment