Monday, July 22, 2013

REVIEW: M-ez - Power - Dropping Aug 6th

August 6th sees the long awaited release for what is promised to be the 'album of the year' by M-ez; 'Power'.
It might seem to be a wild claim but M-ez does not disappoint with a selection of powerful tracks including the title track which has to be one of the tracks of the year and should be destined for great things.
Let me break down the album track by track:

1. King Us (Intro)
Ez lays it down how it is in his world over a rich majestic beat. When he says 'We run the world not Beyonce' you believe its honesty in his belief.

2. The Power
The infectious hook starts off this tale of hope and success in the face of the struggle and dominates the track throughout. Lyrically Ez takes you along as part of his team over a triumphant beat, leading a justified charge against the haters and stamping the fact he's made it all over their ice grills.

3. Black-Ugly-Evil
Reminiscent of Kanye from the beat to the flow, this track uses a Martin Luthor King sample with just as much ingenuity as anything from Mr West to great effect. Lyrically Ez's braggadocio style also matches Ye ego to ego.

4. Can't Save You Ft. Roman 610
Straight spittin over this barnstormer of a track from Ez with an impressive verse from Roman. There's no saving those wack emcees from this banger!

5. I Illuminate
The tempo is brought back down a notch with this laid back track where Ez's conversational style switches between what feels like boasts (though never idle) and straight honesty. Blaze an L to this one.

6. Day Dreamin
Another laid back affair that sees Ez shouting out family, friends, and associates, giving credit where due.

7. Le Grand Roi ft Lazo
Lazo lends his auto-tuned vocal talents to this made for radio summer jam. Perfect for relaxing in the sun or cruisin past those flashing lights reflecting off the tints.

8. Im Too Much
This track is on some smooth pimp shit with vocal snippets from Black Dynamite with a dope sampled beat.

9. Pick It Up Ft. Lazo
A certified club banger featuring Lazo on hook duties.

10. Talk To Me Ft. Mouse Dollas
Another example of dope sampling on this track where Ez talks to the track and invites you to listen. Mouse is also very impressive on his guest verse.

11. Overture
A bangin beat serves as the perfect platform for Ez to ruggedly go in on.

12. Church
Ez beats down demons both internal and external on his way to higher ground over yet another dope beat.

13. After Church
This is one powerful beat that sees Ez lyrically letting off at his enemies and those who would dare test his dominance in the game.

14.God Rap (Outro) Ft. Roman 610
Ez spits some straight fire over a fluid but rough beat while Roman gets his Big Rube on and sees out the album with some jewels to make you think.

M-ez clearly feels he has something to prove. This is evident throughout the album but what also becomes clear after a listen is that he has nothing to prove. With a flow that switches between Jay, Kanye, and Bleek at times, Ez is reminiscent of a one man Rocafella but with an honesty that is more relatable than some of their more recent releases. The album has a confidence and self belief that is fully justified. With the right push this album could easily sit up there with the great releases from any of the aforementioned artists (dont sleep on Bleek). Dust off the throne for the new arrival.

Review by Cuban Pete (C75 Designs owner/designer)

No comments:

Post a Comment